American Snack Day

For food lovers, full participation in American life requires the preparation of snacks on Super Bowl Sunday, whether or not you watch the game.

I was a freshman in high school for Superbowl One in 1967, but it still seems like Superbowl Sunday is a recent addition to the yearly cycle of American holiday meals. Time flies indeed. In those days all I knew about football was that Joe Namath was cute and really good.

I’m not sure how much the food industry has shaped this snack carnival. My sense is that it evolved naturally, the inevitable result of the creation of a uniquely important football game.

Only Thanksgiving scores higher than Superbowl Sunday in caloric consumption. Folksy fact: these two special days bracket the spectrum of American eating habits. Thanksgiving dinner is the meal most often served “at the table” with family, while Super Bowl fare is the complete opposite of a sit-down meal, and celebrated most often with buddies.

Google Trends wants you to know the most popular Superbowl snacks by state. For my state–Delaware–it’s chocolate peanut butter cake. I call bunk, but I think I tracked down the methodology that produced Delaware’s “most googled snack.”

You see, Valerie Bertinelli grew up in Delaware, and she’s got a Food Network gig “Valerie’s Home Cooking.” And Pinterest the Ubiquitous has an entry from Ms. Bertinelli:
Chocolate Peanut Butter Cakes (My Delaware Days).  

I’m no SEO expert, but I am a Delawarean and still get around, and I’ve never heard a buzz about chocolate peanut butter cake.

Leave a comment